27.4 C
Thursday, July 18, 2024

“Time for change”: Labour win in landslide general election

Sir Keir Starmer will be the next prime minister after his party won in a landslide general election.

With a few seats left to come in, Labour have won more than 410 – a gain of more than 200 – whilst the Conservatives bagged just over 110.

Tories losing their seats include senior high-profilers like Liz Truss, Jacob Rees-Mogg and Penny Mordaunt.

Outgoing prime minister, Rishi Sunak, told the nation: “The British people have delivered a sobering verdict (tonight), there is much to learn, and I take responsibility for the loss.”

Labour landslide

Sir Starmer said: “We did it! You fought for her, you voted for it and now it has arrived. Change begins now.

“And it feels good I have to be honest. 4.5 years of work to changing the party, This is what it is for a changed Labour party. ready to serve our country, ready to restore Britain to the service of working people. And across our country people will be waking up to the news that a weight has been lifted from the shoulders of this great nation.”

Meanwhile Liberal Democrats leader Ed Davey said his party looks to achieve the best results in its history, with wins in more than 65 constituencies.

Nigel Farage was elected MP for the first time, as the Reform party won four seats.

The Green Party had its most successful night after winning four seats. It had only ever won one in Brighton Pavilion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Stories

Related Articles